Soccer (M)

Four Indians named to SAC Men's Soccer all-conference team

ROCK HILL, SC – Catawba College placed four players, all earning first team honors, on the 2005 South Atlantic Conference Men's Soccer Team, announced on Monday by the league office. The four Indians were forwards Gareth Turnbull (Christchurch, NEW ZEALAND) and Zay-Zay Gilewala (Monrovia, LIBERIA), midfielder Nathan Zuzga (Troy, MI) and defender Kenny Crowe (Reeders, PA). Turnbull currently leads the team with 11 goals and has two assists, while Gilewala has netted six goals with six assists. Zuzga ranks second on the team with eight goals and has added six helpers. Crowe makes the All-SAC team for the fourth straight year and anchors a defense that posted six shutouts and a 1.32 goals against average. He added two goals and an assist. Tyler Baldock, who helped Carson-Newman to its third straight conference title with his play inside the goal, was named the 2005 South Atlantic Conference men’s soccer Player of the Year for the second year in a row, one of six Eagles named to the All-Conference team. Baldock, a junior from Surrey, Canada, had a 0.38 goals against average, the best in the country in Division II, and had a save percentage of .924, also tops in the country. He recorded nine shutouts in 16 matches. Tusculum’s Dave Bailey, who ranked second in the league in goals per game and points per game, was named Freshman of the Year. Bailey, from Bristol, England, was a two-time Player of the Week selection. Carson-Newman coach Allen Vital, who guided the Eagles to a 16-1 record, was named Coach of the Year for the third year in a row and fourth time in his career. The Scholar Athlete Award for men’s soccer went to Daniel Waymont of Mars Hill College, a Second Team All Conference selection. Joining Baldock on the First Team from Carson-Newman are forward Dario Carrasco, who led the SAC in scoring, midfielder Brad Cobbs and defenders Richard Moodie and Jason McMillan. Midfielder Sean Guiseppi was named to the Second Team. 2005 SOUTH ATLANTIC CONFERENCE MEN’S SOCCER ALL-CONFERENCE TEAMS AND AWARD RECIPIENTS FIRST TEAM Forward - Dario Carrasco, Carson-Newman Forward – Dave Bailey, Tusculum Forward – Gareth Turnbull, CATAWBA Forward – Zay Zay Gilewala, CATAWBA Midfielder – Brad Cobbs, Carson-Newman Midfielder – Nathan Zuzga, CATAWBA Midfielder – Gerald Watt, Tusculum Midfielder – Trent Weber, Presbyterian Defender – Richard Moodie, Carson-Newman Defender – Jason McMillan, Carson-Newman Defender – Kenny Crowe, CATAWBA Defender – Jay Harris, Tusculum Goalkeeper – Tyler Baldock, Carson-Newman SECOND TEAM Forward – Luis Carrizosa, Lenoir-Rhyne Forward – Daniel Waymont, Mars Hill Forward – Brandon Tucker, Presbyterian Forward – Robert Dawson, Wingate Midfielder – James Lavery, Wingate Midfielder – Ben Clark, Wingate Midfielder – Ryan Minor, Mars Hill Midfielder – Sean Guiseppi, Carson-Newman Defender – Kerrin Sheldon, Wingate Defender – Robert Hajnal, Lenoir-Rhyne Defender – Miles Childers, Newberry Defender – John Odum, Presbyterian Goalkeeper – Mark Owens, Presbyterian COACH OF THE YEAR: Allen Vital, Carson-Newman College FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Dave Bailey, Tusculum College PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Tyler Baldock, Carson-Newman College SAC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE: Daniel Waymont, Mars Hill College #####

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«September 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Soccer (M) Team Photo