Soccer (M)

Men's Soccer Tabbed Fourth in Pre-Season SAC Poll


ROCK HILL, SC -- Lincoln Memorial University, which advanced to the NCAA Division II men’s soccer semifinals last season, is the favorite to win the 2007 South Atlantic Conference championship in a vote of the league coaches.  Catawba was picked fourth in the poll and had three pre-season all-conference picks.

Senior midfielder Ryan Villiard was the lone first team selection for Catawba on the pre-season squad.  He ranked sixth in the league in assists per match last year.  Villiard earned second team All-SAC honors and was a Daktronics first team All-Appalachian Region selection.  Sophomores Matt Halton and Andrew Landry were second team All-SAC picks as freshman and are on the pre-season second team.

Catawba returns 10 starters and 16 letterwinners from last year’s team that earned its third straight trip to the NCAA II Regional Tournament.  Landry is the top returning goal scorer after notching seven with five assists in his freshman campaign.  Halton started 20 matches on defense, helping the Tribe to four shutouts.  Catawba will open its season on Tuesday, August 28 at Pfeiffer.  The Indians first home match will be against Wheeling Jesuit on Sunday, Sept. 2 at 1 p.m. 

Lincoln Memorial received five first-place votes and 61 total points.  The Railsplitters were 15-2-3 overall last season, but were not eligible for the conference championship.  Lincoln Memorial returns nine starters off last year’s team which made a run at the national title, including five who were named to the preseason All-Conference team.  Lenoir-Rhyne College picked up the other three first-place votes and finished second in the poll with 56 points.  The Bears went 19-1-1 last year, winning the Food Lion SAC Tournament championship before ending their season in the Appalachian Region finals with a 1-1 tie against Lincoln Memorial.  LMU advanced to the quarterfinals by penalty kicks.

Pl.  School - Pts.
1. Lincoln Memorial (5) - 61
2. Lenoir-Rhyne       (3) - 56
3. Carson-Newman - 49
4. Catawba - 35
5. Wingate - 28
6. Tusculum - 25
7. Newberry - 23
8. Mars Hill - 11
(First place votes in parenthesis)

F - Omar Cooke, Carson-Newman
F - Luis Carrizosa, Lenoir-Rhyne
F - Debola Ogunseye, Newberry
F - Daniel Waymont, Mars Hill
MF - Ryan Villiard, CATAWBA
MF - Aaron Wheeler, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF - Edsel Rudder, Newberry
MF - Matthew Lee, Lenoir-Rhyne
D - Thomas Ostvold, Carson-Newman
D - Everardo Flores, Carson-Newman
D - Jeff Bell, Newberry
D - Kerrin Sheldon, Wingate
GK - Brent Cole, Lincoln Memorial
F - Amar Brkic, Lenoir-Rhyne
F - Andrew Landry, CATAWBA
F - Leandro Pereira, Lincoln Memorial
F - Junior Nyemb, Wingate
MF - Gary Higgins, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF - Leonardo de Barros, Lincoln Memorial
MF - Gareth Williams, Tusculum
MF - Claudio Rico, Lincoln Memorial
D - Felipe Nogueira, Lincoln Memorial
D - Matt Halton, CATAWBA
D - Rondon Bacchus, Mars Hill
D - Kyle Rudder, Newberry
GK - Josiah Larson, Mars Hill

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«October 2020»
October 17

Soccer (W) Team Scrimmage 7 p.m.


Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Soccer (W) Team Photo