Roach Leads List of 13 Named to All-SAC Football Teams


ROCK HILL, SC -- Catawba’s Brad Roach (Williamston, NC/Williamston HS) was named the South Atlantic Conference Offensive Player of the Year to head the list of award winners on the 2007 All-SAC Football teams, announced Monday by the league office.  Catawba placed 13 players on the teams, while Chip Hester garnered Coach of the Year honors for the first time.

 Roach has enjoyed a record-breaking year for Catawba in helping the Indians to a share of the league crown and a berth in the NCAA II Playoffs.  The senior quarterback has thrown for a record 24 touchdowns this season and his 2,704 passing yards is closing in on another school mark.  Roach becomes the fourth Catawba player to earn the SAC Offensive Player of the Year award.

 Joining Roach on the offensive first team is senior running back Kory Fisher (New Bern, NC/New Bern HS), senior wide receiver Brent Johnson (Hickory, NC/Hickory HS) and sophomore lineman Terence Crosby (Winston-Salem, NC/Glenn HS).  Second team honors went to junior running back George Bell (Fayetteville, NC/Britt HS), senior tight end Shane Timmons (Denton, NC/S. Davidson HS), sophomore lineman Hunter Carnes (Ayden, NC/Ayden-Grifton HS) and sophomore return specialist Travis Landrum (Inman, SC/Chapman HS).

 Ron Ellington (Charlotte, NC/Independence HS) was the lone first team selection from the Indians on defense.  The senior end leads Catawba with six and half sacks and 15 stops for losses.  Earning second team honors were sophomore lineman Melquan Fair (Raleigh, NC/E. Wake HS), junior linebackers Joe Brown (New Bern, NC/New Bern HS) and Charles McAfee (Charlotte, NC/Vance HS) and junior cornerback Jasmon Carpenter (Black Mountain, NC/Owen HS).


First Team
QB - Brad Roach, CATAWBA; Alex Good, Carson-Newman (TIE)
RB - Kory Fisher, CATAWBA
RB - Alex Haynes, Newberry
RB - George Washington, Mars Hill
WR - Ryan Tallent, Tusculum
WR - Brent Johnson, CATAWBA
WR - Reggie Hubbard, Carson-Newman
TE - Chris Conklin, Wingate
OL - Heath Benedict, Newberry
OL - Matt Tyrell, Carson-Newman
OL - Ross Shaffer, Carson-Newman
OL - Terence Crosby, CATAWBA
OL - Bentley Rogers, Mars Hill
RS - Antonio Patton, Newberry
PK - Andrew Coln, Lenoir-Rhyne

First Team
DL - Kenwin Cummings, Wingate
DL - Adrian Samples, Tusculum
DL - Ron Ellington, CATAWBA
DL - Darius Wrentz, Carson-Newman
LB - Eric Rice, Carson-Newman
LB - Justin Scott, Tusculum
LB - Brian Brown, Carson-Newman
LB - Nathaniel Smith, Mars Hill
DB - Jeremy Thompson, Tusculum
DB - Rashawn Champion, Mars Hill
DB - Temarcus Thompson, Newberry
DB - Denares Waites, Carson-Newman
P - Chris Jones, Carson-Newman
LS - Robbie Kelly, Tusculum

Second Team
RB - Buck Wakefield, Carson-Newman
RB - Nelson Woods, Wingate
RB - George Bell, CATAWBA
WR - David Smith, Newberry
WR - Demario Zachery, Mars Hill
WR - Shawn Barrett, Wingate
TE - Shane Timmons, CATAWBA
OL - Matt Lawrie, Tusculum
OL - Cam LeGrand, Wingate
OL - Hunter Carnes, CATAWBA
OL - Greg Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL - Jonathan Dailey, Newberry
RS - Travis Landrum, CATAWBA
PK - Aubrey Ingham, Carson-Newman

Second Team
DL -Anthony Toribio, Carson-Newman
DL - Tony Ransom, Newberry
DL - Charles Chavous, Mars Hill
DL - Melquan Fair, CATAWBA
LB - Jarvis Littlejohn, Tusculum
LB - Charles McAfee, CATAWBA
LB - Tyler Johnson, Wingate
LB - Joe Brown, CATAWBA
DB - Derrell Mills, Newberry
DB - Jasmon Carpenter, CATAWBA
DB - Otis Ballard, Carson-Newman
DB - Barry Tate, Lenoir-Rhyne
P - John Gregory, Tusculum
LS - Jordon Simmons, Lenoir-Rhyne

Offensive Player Of The Year: Brad Roach, CATAWBA
Defensive Player Of The Year: Eric Rice, Carson-Newman
Offensive Freshman Of The Year: Nelson Woods, Wingate
Defensive Freshman Of The Year: Revel Coffey, Carson-Newman
Coach Of The Year: Chip Hester, Catawba
Jacobs Blocking Trophy Award: Heath Benedict, Newberry
SAC Scholar Athlete: Jarrell Smith, Tusculum

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2022»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Football Team Photo