Crosby and Fair Lead Five Selected to All-SAC Football Teams


ROCK HILL, SC – Catawba placed five players on the 2009 All-South Atlantic Conference Football Teams as announced by the league office on Monday.  The Indians had two first team selections, senior offensive tackle Terence Crosby (Winston-Salem, NC/Glenn HS) and senior defensive tackle Melquan Fair (Raleigh, NC/E. Wake HS).  Earning second team honors was junior wide receiver Brandon Bunn (Virginia Beach, VA/Hargrave/VMI), junior defensive tackle Brandon Sutton (Snow Hill, NC/Greene Central HS) and freshman linebacker Cory Johnson (Fayetteville, NC/Britt HS).

Crosby becomes a three-time All-SAC first team pick.  He started 33 games over his career at left tackle and was an All-America selection last season.  Fair also makes his third appearance on the All-SAC teams and second as a first team selection.  He led Catawba and the league with 8.5 sacks this season and totaled 17 stops for losses.  He had one fumble return for a touchdown and also forced a fumble that was returned for a score.

Bunn finished second on the team with 32 catches, but led the league with a dozen touchdown grabs.  The total was just two shy of Catawba’s school record.  He totaled 520 yards in receiving and also averaged nearly nine yards on punt returns.  Sutton made 51 tackles and led the team with 18 for losses.  Among those for losses were four sacks and he also blocked a pair of kicks.  Johnson led Catawba with 69 tackles this season and had six for losses. 

2009 All-SAC Football Teams

First Team
QB - Alex Good, Carson-Newman
WR - David Smith, Newberry
WR - Ryan Tallent, Tusculum
WR - Reggie Hubbard, Carson-Newman
RB - Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill
RB - Buck Wakefield, Carson-Newman
RB - Vince Jordan, Wingate
TE - Jerrell NeSmith, Tusculum
OL - Michael Tribue, Carson-Newman
OL - Terence Crosby, CATAWBA
OL - Josh Sims, Mars Hill
OL - Matt Holmes, Newberry
OL - Ben Benshoof, Wingate
K - Gareth Rowlands, Tusculum
LS - Skylar West, Tusculum

DL - Zeke Andrews, Carson-Newman
DL - Melquan Fair, CATAWBA
DL - Lance Clark, Newberry
DL - Antwan Murchinson, Mars Hill
LB - Stanley Jones, Brevard
LB - Andre Moyd, Newberry
LB - Brian Brown, Carson-Newman
LB - Josh Baker, Mars Hill
DB - Ron Parker, Newberry
DB - Mario Russell, Carson-Newman
DB - Marcus Shuford, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB - Michael Gist, Brevard
P - John Gregory, Tusculum
RS - Perry Floyd, Wingate

Second Team
QB - Brandon Gantt, Newberry
WR - Kelton Tindal, Newb erry
WR - Delric Ellington, Wingate
WR - Brandon Bunn, CATAWBA
RB - S.J. Worrell, Newberry
RB - Marcus Foster, Tusculum
RB - Nate Inman, Carson-Newman
TE - Ryan Webber, Wingate
OL - Tilmon Hollingshed, Carson-Newman
OL - Hannibal Ruiz, Tusculum
OL - Harrison Smith, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL - Charlie Byers, Brevard
OL - Adam Baxter, Carson-Newman
K - Carlos Lopez, Carson-Newman
LS - Miles Hite, Carson-Newman

DL - Josh Jefferson, Brevard
DL - Maurice Harris, Mars Hill
DL - Brandon Harmon, Carson-Newman
DL - Brandon Sutton, CATAWBA
LB - Cory Johnson, CATAWBA
LB - Elliette Jackson, Carson-Newman
LB - Prince Simunyu, Brevard
LB - Aaron Plyler, Wingate
DB - Tylan Merkerson, Wingate
DB - P.J. Woods, Carson-Newman
DB - Keadran Pinckney, Mars Hill
DB - Kamaal McIlwain, Newberry
P - Chris Jones, Carson-Newman
RS - Antonio Patton, Newberry

Co-Offensive Players Of The Year - Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill, and Alex Good, Carson-Newman
Defensive Player Of The Year - Ron Parker, Newberry
Freshman Offensive Player Of The Year - Bo Cordell, Tusculum
Freshman Defensive Player Of The Year - Qua Jackson, Carson-Newman
Coach Of The Year - Ken Sparks, Carson-Newman
Jacobs Blocking Trophy - Michael Tribue, Carson-Newman

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2022»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Football Team Photo