Ten Earn All-SAC Football Honors, Dennis Named Scholar Athlete


ROCK HILL, SC -- Catawba placed ten players on the 2010 South Atlantic Conference All-SAC Football Teams, while quarterback Patrick Dennis (Durham, NC/Cedar Ridge, NC) was named the league’s Scholar Athlete for football.  The awards were announced on Tuesday by the league office.  Tusculum quarterback Bo Cordell was named the SAC Offensive Player of the Year, while Lenoir-Rhyne defensive back Marcus Shuford was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

A therapeutic recreation major, Dennis achieved a 3.807 GPA.  The senior was a three-year starter for the Indians, and holds school records for career passing efficiency, career completion percentage and single-season passing efficiency.  He threw for a career-high 384 yards against Newberry this season, the fourth-best performance in school history, and finished his career with 45 touchdown passes.

Dennis was named to the Presidential Honor Roll twice and to the Dean’s List four times. He was a Presidential Scholar and a member of Alpha Chi honor society. He was named to the ESPN Academic All-District team in 2008 and 2010.  Dennis has volunteered as a mentor and tutor at local elementary and middle schools. He also worked as a classroom volunteer for children with autism and other special needs. He also has helped at a local soup kitchen.

Three Indians earned first team All-SAC honors; senior defensive lineman Julian Hartsell (Columbia, SC/Ridgeview HS), sophomore return specialist LJ McCray (Charlotte, NC/Harding HS) and sophomore cornerback Jumal Rolle (Wilson, NC/Beddingfield HS).  Hartsell produced six sacks and seven stops for losses from his tackle position.  McCray leads NCAA II in kickoff returns (32.5) and set a national record with 304 returns yards and two for scores vs. Tusculum.  Rolle shares the league lead with five interceptions.

Second team honors went to senior wide receiver Brandon Bunn (Virginia Beach, VA/Fork Union/VMI), junior running back Josh Wright (Raeford, NC/Hoke Co. HS/W. Carolina), senior offensive linemen Zane Gibson (Wake Forest, NC/Wakefield HS) and Lavar Marsh (Burlington, NC/E. Alamance HS), red-shirt freshman defensive end Damein Lee (Reidsville, NC/Reidsville HS), junior linebacker Lakeem Perry (Louisburg, NC/Louisburg HS) and sophomore long snapper DJ Davis (Charleston, SC/Wando HS).

Bunn set a school record with 247 receiving yards at Wingate and caught 30 career touchdown passes.  He led the squad in 2010 with 46 receptions.  Wright posted a team-leading 687 yards rushing and went over 100 yards three times.  Gibson was a three-year started at center before switching to guard this year, while Marsh moved exclusively to the line and started at tackle.

Lee garnered SAC Freshman Defensive Player of the Year honors as well as being All-SAC.  He led the team with both seven sacks and a dozen stops for losses.  Perry finished third on the team with 60 tackles which included a sack and four tackles for loss.  He forced two fumbles and recorded an interception.  Davis handled all long snapping duties and made a pair of tackles on punt coverage.

Wingate’s Joe Reich was named Coach of the Year.  The Bulldogs joined Catawba with 10 All-SAC picks.  Brevard running back Kelvin Jeter was named the Offensive Freshman of the Year.  The Jacobs Blocking Trophy went to Lenoir-Rhyne offensive lineman Chandler Rearden.

QB – Bo Cordell, Tusculum
WR – P.J. Gore, Mars Hill
WR – David Pressley, Newberry
WR – Deonte’ Gist, Tusculum
RB – Kelvin Jeter, Brevard
RB – Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill
RB – Nelson Woods, Wingate
OL – Michael Tribue, Carson-Newman
OL – Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL – Matt Holmes, Newberry
OL – Hannibal Ruiz, Tusculum
OL – Mike Arndt, Wingate
TE – Allen Woerner, Mars Hill
LS – Skylar West, Tusculum
P – Chris Jones, Carson-Newman
PK – Gareth Rowlands, Tusculum

DL – Zeke Andrews, Carson-Newman
DL – Julian Hartsell, CATAWBA
DL – Brandon Martin, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL – Maurice Harris, Mars Hill
LB – Prince Simunyu, Brevard
LB – Demetrius Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB – Rudy Cabral, Mars Hill
LB – Greg Harmon, Wingate
DB – Mario Russell, Carson-Newman
DB – Jumal Rolle, CATAWBA
DB – Marcus Shuford, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Ron Parker, Newberry
RS – Perry Floyd, Wingate


QB – Cody Haffly, Wingate
WR – Brandon Bunn, CATAWBA
WR – Delric Ellington, Wingate
WR – Perry Floyd, Wingate
RB – Nate Inman, Carson-Newman
RB – Brandon Baker, Carson-Newman
RB – Josh Wright, CATAWBA
OL – Darrell Neely, Brevard
OL – Kevin Day, Carson-Newman
OL – Lavar Marsh, CATAWBA
OL – Zane Gibson, CATAWBA
OL – Kaleb Myrick, Lenoir-Rhyne
TE – Michael Rodriguez, Tusculum
P – Eric Watts, Brevard
PK – RP Lopez, Wingate

DL – Damein Lee, CATAWBA
DL –Nelson Bullard, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL – Arterio Arnold, Newberry
DL – Terrence Smith, Tusculum
LB – Anthony McAlister, Carson-Newman
LB – Lakeem Perry, CATAWBA
LB – Josh Baker, Mars Hill
LB – Apollo Stretch, Newberry
DB – Salonik Amos, Brevard
DB – Tarvin Jones, Carson-Newman
DB – Robert Fletcher, Wingate
DB – Terrance Stephens, Wingate

Offensive Player Of The Year – Bo Cordell, Tusculum
Defensive Player Of The Year – Marcus Shuford, Lenoir-Rhyne
Offensive Freshman Of The Year – Kelvin Jeter, Brevard
Defensive Freshman Of The Year – Damein Lee, CATAWBA
Jacobs Blocking Trophy – Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne
Coach Of The Year – Joe Reich, Wingate
Scholar-Athlete – Patrick Dennis, CATAWBA

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2022»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Football Team Photo