Soccer (M)

Faughnan, Smith and Minogue Earn All-SAC Men's Soccer Honors


ROCK HILL, SC -- Catawba placed three players on the second team All-South Atlantic Conference Men’s Soccer Teams.  Forward Carson Smith (Mooresville, NC/Mooresville HS), midfielder Corey Faughnan (Jacksonville, NC/Jacksonville HS) and defender Domhnall Minogue (Greystones, IRELAND/Presentation) were honored in the announcement by the conference office on Thursday.

Smith, a junior who was also an all-conference selection last season, and Faughnan, a sophomore, share the team lead in scoring as each has scored seven goals while adding seven assists.  Two of Smith’s tallies have gone for game-winners.  Minogue, a sophomore, has helped a defense post six shutouts, while adding three goals and an assist.

Anderson forward Lasse Sohrweide repeated as the SAC Men’s Soccer Player of the Year.  Sohrweide leads the SAC in points, goals, game-winning goals, shots and assists.  His standout season helped Anderson finish a perfect 9-0 in the SAC and capture the outright regular-season conference championship.

LMU forward Mario Pinto was named the SAC Freshman of the Year after a season in which he finished second in the league in points, goals and shots.   TC’s strong season was led by Allen Vital, who earned SAC Coach of the Year honors after the Pioneers finished 6-1-2 in the league.

Earning the Scholar Athlete Award for men’s soccer was Ben Jones, of Anderson.  Tusculum and Wingate tied for the SAC Fair Play Award, which recognizes the teams that accumulated the fewest red and yellow cards during conference play. 

All-SAC First Team
F - Lasse Sohrweide, Anderson
F - Robbie Hill, Carson-Newman
F - Mario Pinto, Lincoln Memorial
F - Stephen Bivens, Mars Hill
MF - Shu Ogawa, Anderson
MF - Mark Smith, Anderson
MF - Chris Nash, Lincoln Memorial
MF - Rury Caulfield, Mars Hill
DEF - Kevin Butler, Anderson
DEF - Callum Home, Lincoln Memorial
DEF - Troy Chavez, Mars Hill
DEF - Matias Rubio, Tusculum
GK - Lukas Hesse, Anderson
GK - Michael Watkins, Lincoln Memorial
GK - Zac Scott, Mars Hill
* Three-way tie for first-team goalkeeper; no second team distinction. 

All-SAC Second Team
F - Carson Smith, Catawba
F - Leonardo Germiniani, Lincoln Memorial
F - Felipe Ferraro, Mars Hill
F - Pontus Rosen, Tusculum
F - Javier Portillo, Tusculum
MF - Corey Faughnan, Catawba
MF - Alex Mullen, Mars Hill
MF - Kjetil Paulsen, Tusculum
MF - Roberto Pimentel, Tusculum
DEF - James Moseley, Anderson
DEF - Domhnall Minogue, Catawba
DEF - Evan Preston-Kelly, Carson-Newman
DEF - Fredrik Muren, Tusculum
SAC Player of the Year:  Lasse Sohrweide, Anderson
SAC Freshman of the Year:  Mario Pinto, Lincoln Memorial
SAC Coach of the Year:  Allen Vital, Tusculum
SAC Scholar Athlete:  Ben Jones, Anderson

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«October 2020»
October 17

Soccer (W) Team Scrimmage 7 p.m.


Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Soccer (W) Team Photo