Five Earn All-SAC Football Honors


ROCK HILL, SC -- Five players earned post season football honors from the South Atlantic Conference, announced Tuesday by the league office.  Named first team All-SAC was senior linebacker Lakeem Perry (Louisburg, NC/Louisburg HS) and junior cornerback Jumal Rolle (Wilson, NC/Beddingfield HS).  Second team honors went to senior running back Josh Wright (Raeford, NC/Hoke Co. HS/W. Carolina), freshman defensive end CJ Barksdale (Simpsonville, SC/Hillcrest HS) and long snapper DJ Davis (Charleston, SC/Wando HS).  Barksdale was named the league Freshman Defensive Player of the Year.

Perry closed out his career by leading the team with 108 tackles.  Seven of those stop went for losses, including a sack.  He also picked off a pass and recovered two fumbles.  Rolle made a pair of interceptions and broke up an additional 12 aerials.  He totaled 30 tackles with fumble recovery and a blocked kick

Wright ran for 627 yards, caught 30 passes and scored five touchdowns.  He finished his career ranked 14th on the all-time rushing list with 1,556 yards.  Barksdale was fifth on the team with 52 tackles, recording a team-high 11 stops for losses.  He registered four saves, forced a fumble and recovered three fumbles.  Davis repeated as a second team All-SAC pick, handling snapping duties for punts and place kicks.   

Mars Hill running back Jonas Randolph was named Offensive Player of the Year, while his wide receiver teammate, Dimitri Holmes, was named the Freshman Offensive Player of the Year.  Lenoir-Rhyne lineman Demetrius Green claimed the Defensive Player of the Year honors and Lenoir-Rhyne offensive lineman Chandler Reardon was awarded the Jacobs Blocking Trophy.

Mars Hill’s Tim Clifton and Lenoir-Rhyne’s Mike Houston were the Co-Coaches of the Year.  The Lions and the Bears shared the league title.  Wingate’s Cody Haffly was named the Scholar Athlete for football.

VideoVIDEO: Post-Season Interview with Coach Hester


1st Team Offense
QB – Majon Herron, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB – Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill
RB – Nate Inman, Carson-Newman
RB – John Gadson, Newberry
WR – Deonte Gist, Tusculum
WR – Chris Bowden, Wingate
WR – Eric Watts, Brevard
TE – Brandon Ellington, Wingate
TE – Josh Crumpton, Mars Hill
OL – Chandler Reardon, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL – Caleb Campbell, Brevard
OL – Chase Gamble, Newberry
OL – Tyler Hodgson, Mars Hill
OL – Mike Arndt, Wingate
PK – Colin Corpe, Lenoir-Rhyne
RS – Deonte Gist, Tusculum

1st Team Defense
DL – Zeke Andrews, Carson-Newman
DL – Brandon Martin, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL – Kevin Johnson, Mars Hill
DL – Anterio Arnold, Newberry
LB – Prince Simunyu, Brevard
LB – Apollo Stretch, Newberry
LB – Demetrius Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB – Larry Lumpkin, Carson-Newman
LB – Lakeem Perry, Catawba
DB – Michael Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Michael Gist, Brevard
DB – Marvin James, Mars Hill
DB – Jumal Rolle, Catawba
P – Eric Watts, Brevard
LS – Skylar West, Tusculum

2nd Team Offense
QB – Cody Haffly, Wingate
RB – Isiah Whitaker, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB – Josh Wright, Catawba
RB – Patrick Park, Mars Hill
WR – Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
WR – Rashaad Carter, Tusculum
WR – Brandon Bostick, Newberry
OL – Kevin Day, Carson-Newman
OL – Josh Stone, Tusculum
OL – Nick Allison, Mars Hill
OL – Pat Aiken, Tusculum
OL – Alex Taylor, Carson-Newman
PK – Michael Pinkerton, Mars Hill
RS – Michael Green, Lenoir-Rhyne

2nd Team Defense
DL –Terrence Smith, Tusculum
DL – Jack Taylor, Wingate
DL – CJ Barksdale, Catawba
DL – Christian Lumbu, Brevard
LB – Rudy Cabral, Mars Hill
LB – Jared Seate, Wingate
LB – Rufus Jenkins, Brevard
DB – David Davis, Newberry
DB – Oliver Davis, Carson-Newman
DB – Jamont Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Tarvin Jones, Carson-Newman
P – JoJo Morris, Newberry
P – Andy Rosetti, Tusculum
LS – DJ Davis, Catawba

Offensive Player of the Year: Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill
Defensive Player of the Year: Demetrius Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
Offensive Freshman of the Year: Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
Defensive Freshman of the Year: CJ Barksdale, Catawba
Jacobs Blocking Trophy: Chandler Reardon, Lenoir-Rhyne
Coach of the Year: Tim Clifton, Mars Hill and Mike Houston, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Scholar Athlete: Cody Haffly, Wingate

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2022»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Football Team Photo