FacebookTwitterYouTubeInstagramPinterestMailing ListBroadcastsLive Stats


Five Catawba Swimmers Garner All-Conference Honors

FAIRMONT, W.Va. -- The 2012 Bluegrass Mountain All-Conference team was announced Thursday based on performances at the conference championships held at the Mecklenburg Aquatic Center in Charlotte last weekend. The Catawba men placed four on the team while the women had one.

For the men, who are all freshman, Finn Furstenwerth (Hamburg, GERMANY) in the 200 breast, Magnus Lundgren (Alvsjo, SWEDEN/Varmdo HS) in the 50 and 100 free, Andrew McCollister (Rockwell, NC/Salisbury HS) in the 400 IM and Theo Zatterstrom (Stockholm, SWEDEN/Fryshuset HS) in the 200 free.

On the women’s side Katia Kruglov (Karmiel, ISRAEL/Ort Kramim HS) claimed the accolade for her finishes in the 100 and 200 back.

The men’s team also achieved the honor of making the CSCAA Scholar All-American Team. For the Fall 2011 semester the Catawba men collectively put together an impressive 3.33 GPA which was fifth in the nation in Division II swimming.



NCAASACAthletic Site

support catawba athletics