Soccer (M)

Men's Soccer Puts Three on All-SAC Teams


ROCK HILL, SC -- Catawba senior Carson Smith (Mooresville, NC/Mooresville HS) was named first team, while juniors Corey Faughnan (Jacksonville, NC/Jacksonville HS) and Dohmnall Minogue (Greystones, IRELAND/Presentation) were selected to the second team of the 2012 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Soccer teams.  The awards were announced on Wednesday by the league office.  These three will lead the sixth-seeded Catawba Indians into the SAC Tournament at Lincoln Memorial on Wednesday.

Smith, a second team pick the last two years, earned a spot on the first team in 2012 as a midfielder.  Smith has scored five goals on the year while handing out a league-high nine assists.  Faughnan, a forward, leads the team this year with six goals and has added three assists, while Minogue had an assist from his defender position.  Both Faughnan and Minogue were second team All-SAC performers last year as well.

Lincoln Memorial’s Mario Pinto was named Player of the Year.  Pinto led the SAC with 20 goals and added four assists.  The junior ranks second in the nation in both goals and points.   Lenoir-Rhyne’s Tobias Tobrant was the league Freshman of the Year and Gary Hamel, of Mars Hill, was Coach of the Year.  

VIDEO: Smith Discusses Career at Catawba

All-SAC First Team
Mario Pinto, Lincoln Memorial
Felipe Ferraro, Mars Hill
Shadi Harb, Mars Hill
Gui Lima, Wingate

Alex Mullen, Mars Hill
Gui Andrade, Wingate
Shu Ogawa, Anderson
Carson Smith, Catawba

Trystan Dafydd, Carson-Newman
Gregg Munn, Mars Hill
Corey McCollom, Wingate
Tom Holland, Lenoir-Rhyne

Rumwald Le Gueval, Carson-Newman

All-SAC Second Team
Tobias Tobrant, Lenoir-Rhyne
Stephen Bivens, Mars Hill
Diego Deschamp, Lincoln Memorial
Taylor Jolley, Carson-Newman*
Lars Zimmerman, Anderson*
Corey Faughnan, Catawba*

Andres Diaz, Mars Hill
Chris Nash, Lincoln Memorial
Sindre Welo, Carson-Newman
John Currie, Wingate

Evan Kelly, Carson-Newman
Callum Home, Lincoln Memorial
Victor Tozelli, Wingate
Domhnall Minogue, Catawba

Lukas Hesse, Anderson
* Three-way tie for final second-team forward spot
SAC Player of the Year:  Mario Pinto, Lincoln Memorial
SAC Freshman of the Year:  Tobias Tobrant, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Coach of the Year:  Gary Hamel, Mars Hill
SAC Scholar Athlete: Andy Goellner, Tusculum

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«September 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Soccer (M) Team Photo