Johnson Named SAC Football Co-Defensive Player of Year; Eight Earn All-SAC Honors


ROCK HILL, SC – Senior linebacker Cory Johnson (Fayetteville, NC/Britt HS) headlines eight Catawba players who earned post-season South Atlantic Conference honors as announced by the league office on Tuesday.  Johnson claimed co-Defensive Player of the Year honors, becoming the seventh Catawba Indian to earn the honor since 1997.

Johnson was one of three first team selection for Catawba.  He was joined by senior defensive back Jumal Rolle (Wilson, NC/Beddingfield HS) and junior return specialist LJ McCray (Charlotte, NC/Harding HS).  Second team honors went to junior wide receiver Nate Charest (Charlotte, NC/Butler HS), senior center Ethan Winn (Gretna, VA/Gretna HS), senior long snapper DJ Davis (Charleston, SC/Wando HS), junior defensive lineman Jacob Hanes (Charlotte, NC/Butler HS) and junior defensive lineman Damein Lee (Reidsville, NC/Reidsville HS).

Johnson led the conference with a school-record 138 tackles this season.  Included in that total were a sack and five stops for losses.  Johnson also forced three fumbles and broke up three passes.  Rolle posted a league-high six interceptions, while also blocking four kicks on the year.  He totaled 56 tackles.  McCray led the conference with an average of 29.2 yards on 35 kickoff returners.  He returned one for a touchdown.

Charest was Catawba’s top receiver, catching 52 balls for 588 yards and five touchdowns.  Hanes had three sacks and eight tackles for losses among his 41 tackles.  Lee made 33 tackles with three sacks and a pair of forced fumbles.

All-South Atlantic Conference Football Teams & League Awards

Quarterback – Brandon Haywood, Carson-Newman
Wide Receiver – Chris Bowden, Wingate
Wide Receiver – Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
Wide Receiver – Corey Washington, Newberry
Running Back – Brandon Baker, Carson-Newman
Running Back – Jarrod Spears, Lenoir-Rhyne
Running Back – Shaikel Davis, Mars Hill
Offensive Lineman – Kaleb Myrick, Lenoir-Rhyne
Offensive Lineman – Kevin Day, Carson-Newman
Offensive Lineman – Nick Allison, Mars Hill
Offensive Lineman – Joseph So, Wingate
Offensive Lineman – LeQuawn James, Newberry
Tight End – Eric Watts, Brevard
Long Snapper – Skylar West, Tusculum
Punter – Eric Watts, Brevard
Placekicker – Curt Duncan, Carson-Newman

Defensive Lineman – Brandon Martin, Lenoir-Rhyne
Defensive Lineman – Troy Harris, Mars Hill
Defensive Lineman – Mam Nyang, Mars Hill
Defensive Lineman – DeShon Collins, Carson-Newman
Linebacker – Cory Johnson, Catawba
Linebacker – Tanner Botts, Lenoir-Rhyne
Linebacker – Apollo Stretch, Newberry
Linebacker – Michael Gruber, Brevard
Linebacker – Demetrius Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
Defensive Back – Michael Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
Defensive Back – Jumal Rolle, Catawba
Defensive Back – Myer Nolan, Lenoir-Rhyne
Defensive Back – Luke Harris, Tusculum
Return Specialist – LJ McCray, Catawba

Quarterback – Reuben Haynes, Lenoir-Rhyne
Wide Receiver – Xzanvion Smith, Tusculum
Wide Receiver – Nate Charest, Catawba
Wide Receiver – Duenta Jennings, Mars Hill
Running Back – Brian Marshall, Tusculum
Running Back – Isaiah Whitaker, Lenoir-Rhyne
Running Back – Tyron Douglas, Carson-Newman
Offensive Lineman – Israel Pickens, Tusculum
Offensive Lineman – Alex Taylor, Carson-Newman
Offensive Lineman – Andrew Valazquez, Brevard
Offensive Lineman – Parker Murray, Lenoir-Rhyne
Offensive Lineman – Ethan Winn, Catawba
Tight End – Mark Clyburn, Wingate
Long Snapper – DJ Davis, Catawba
Punter – Andy Rosetti, Tusculum
Placekicker – Zach Neumann, Lenoir-Rhyne

Defensive Lineman – Jacob Hanes, Catawba
Defensive Lineman – Letavious Williams, Newberry
Defensive Lineman – Damein Lee, Catawba
Defensive Lineman – Malcolm Ricks, Wingate
Defensive Lineman – Nick Napolitano, Wingate
Linebacker – Jared Seate, Wingate
Linebacker – Rudy Cabral, Mars Hill
Linebacker – Brian Alexander, Tusculum
Defensive Back – Oliver Davis, Carson-Newman
Defensive Back – Isaac Kinley, Carson-Newman
Defensive Back – Timmy Rogers, Wingate
Defensive Back – Brian Spencer, Newberry

Offensive Player Of The Year – Brandon Haywood, Carson-Newman & Chris Bowden, Wingate
Defensive Player Of The Year – Troy Harris, Mars Hill & Cory Johnson, Catawba
Offensive Freshman Of The Year – Jaquan Marsh, Brevard
Defensive Freshman Of The Year – Jarvis Neal, Carson-Newman
Jacobs Blocking Trophy – Kaleb Myrick, Lenoir-Rhyne & Kevin Day, Carson-Newman
Coach Of The Year – Mike Houston, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Scholar Athlete – Robbie Nallenweg, Wingate

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2022»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Football Team Photo