Five Football Players Earn Six Spots on All-SAC Teams


ROCK HILL, SC -- Five Catawba players earned spots on the 2013 All-South Atlantic Conference football teams as announced by the league office on Wednesday.  L.J. McCray (Charlotte, NC/Harding HS) was the lone first team selection, claiming spots at both defensive back and return specialist.  Second team honors went to Nate Charest (Charlotte, NC/Butler HS), Taylor Fender (Burnsville, NC/Mountain Heritage HS), Jonathan Jean (Orange Park, FL/Fleming Island HS) and Jason Taylor (Bahama, NC/Northern HS).

McCray was the second leading tackler for Catawba, making 78 stops.  He was in on two sacks and four tackles for losses, while breaking up eight passes and forcing a fumble.  McCray graduates as the all-time leading kickoff returner in school history, averaging 28 yards a return for his career with three touchdowns.

Charest, a senior wide receiver, set a school record this season with 73 catches.  He also led the team with 818 yards receiving and caught five touchdown passes.  Charest finished #3 on the Catawba all-time reception list with 184 over his four seasons.

Fender, a junior, started all 11 games this season, splitting time at guard and center.  He helped pave the way for a rushing attack that averaged 132 yards a game, more than 30 yards a game more than a year ago.

Jean, a sophomore defensive tackle, posted 39 tackles over 11 games this season.  Among those were two sacks and five stops for losses. 

Taylor, a junior linebacker, led the team with 105 stops on the season.  He also posted a team-high 10 tackles for losses, including a pair of sacks.  Taylor broke up three passes and caused a fumble. 

All-SAC First Team Offense
QB – Bo Cordell, Tusculum
RB – Shaikel Davis, Mars Hill
RB – Brandon Baker, Carson-Newman
RB – Jarrod Spears, Lenoir-Rhyne
WR – Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
WR – Corey Washington, Newberry
WR – Justin Houston, Tusculum
OL – Denzell Goode, Mars Hill
OL – Alex Taylor, Carson-Newman
OL – Joe Ray, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL – Jamal Ellis, Newberry
OL – Zack Bunn, Lenoir-Rhyne
TE – Wesley Powell, Tusculum
LS – Austin Crook, Newberry
P – Kyle Clark, Newberry
PK – Curt Duncan, Carson-Newman
PK – Zach Neumann, Lenoir-Rhyne

All-SAC First Team Defense
DL – Blake Baker, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL – Troy Harris, Mars Hill
DL – Letavious Williams, Newberry
DL – Javaris Neal, Carson-Newman
LB – Sammy Siasia, Mars Hill
LB – Tanner Botts, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB – Jaycob Coleman, Carson-Newman
LB – Edmond Robinson, Newberry
DB – Michael Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – L.J. McCray, Catawba
DB – Myer Nolan, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – David Davis, Newberry
RS – L.J. McCray, Catawba

All-SAC Second Team Offense
QB – Robbie Nallenweg, Wingate
QB – W.T. Murden, Newberry
RB – Isaiah Whitaker, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB – Kelvin Jeter, Brevard
RB – Tyron Douglas, Carson-Newman
WR – Nate Charest, Catawba
WR – Jordan Berry, Wingate
WR – Deon Hicks, Tusculum
OL – Lucas Mathis, Carson-Newman
OL – Will Poteat, Wingate
OL – David Davis, Tusculum
OL – Nick Allison, Mars Hill
OL – Landon Martin, Newberry
OL – Taylor Fender, Catawba
TE – Brandon Ellington, Wingate
LS – Alex Taylor, Carson-Newman
P – Austin Anthony, Wingate

All-SAC Second Team Defense
DL – Jimmy Long, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL – Nick Napolitano, Wingate
DL – Jonathan Jean, Catawba
DL – Josh Davis, Tusculum
LB – Brian Alexander, Tusculum
LB – Michael Gruber, Brevard
LB – Jason Taylor, Catawba
LB – B.J. Mazyck, Newberry
DB – Eien Jacob, Carson-Newman
DB – O’Neil Blake, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Jacob McCleery, Brevard
DB – Jon Jimenez, Wingate
RS – Jason Livingston, Newberry

SAC Offensive Player Of The Year – Bo Cordell, Tusculum
SAC Defensive Player Of The Year – Michael Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Offensive Freshman Of The Year – Trent Miller, Mars Hill
SAC Defensive Freshman Of The Year – Rodney Singleton, Lenoir-Rhyne
Jacobs Blocking Trophy – Joe Ray, Lenoir-Rhyne
Coach Of The Year – Mike Houston, Lenoir-Rhyne

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2022»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Football Team Photo