Golf (W)

Kennedy Named SAC Scholar-Athlete for Women's Golf


ROCK HILL, SC -- Catawba junior Madison Kennedy (Salisbury, NC/Salisbury HS) and Lincoln Memorial junior Rand Wasson have been selected as the 2013-14 South Atlantic Conference Golf Scholar-Athletes of the Year, an award which recognizes excellence in academics, athletics, service and leadership.  It was announced Monday morning by the SAC office.

Kennedy carries a 3.89 GPA studying accounting and marketing at Catawba.  She is a member of the Alpha Chi National Honor Society, the Catawba Dean’s List, the Catawba Presidential Honor Roll, the SAC Commissioner’s Honor Roll and a Junior Marshal.

Kennedy was an All-SAC First Team selection in 2013-14 with a Catawba-best 78.85 stroke average in 20 rounds.  She finished second individually at the Food Lion SAC Championship and third at the Tusculum Fall Classic.

Away from golf, Kennedy has held leadership positions as the SGA Freshman Class President, the Phi Beta Lambda Treasurer and President, and the SGA Chair of Special Events.  She is also a resident assistant, an orientation leader, a Spanish tutor, a Student-Athlete Advisory Committee representative, and a volunteer at Rowan Helping Ministries and First Presbyterian Church.

Wasson, a pre-med/biology major with a chemistry minor, has a 3.66 GPA at LMU.  He is a multi-year selection to the LMU Honors Program, the SAC Commissioner’s Honor Roll and the Alphi Chi National Honor Society, and has received the G.W. Stone and Full Tuition Trustee scholarships.

On the course, Wasson posted a 75.32 scoring average in 19 total rounds this season en route to being named the SAC Player of the Year.  He won the individual title at the Tusculum Invitational in March and posted runner-up finishes at the Tusculum Fall Classic and the Hargett Memorial Intercollegiate.

Wasson also serves as president of the LMU chapter of Stella’s Voice charity and is VP of The Hill student ministry.  He leads junior clinics at area middle schools, volunteers for the ROHO Christmas Shopping Spree for underprivileged children, packages food for local kids and volunteers for after-school programs at local elementary schools.

The SAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is presented annually to one student-athlete in each of the conference’s 18 championship sports. The awards are voted on by the conference’s Faculty Athletic Representatives Committee.

Also considered:
Mallory Thompkins, Coker
Josh Clay, Coker
Kathryn Rand, Wingate
Garrett Dahms, Wingate
Calley Lawson, Tusculum
Nick Forsberg, Tusculum
Alex Lee, Catawba
Shannon Fraser, Queens
Evan Ruhling, Queens
Sean Shelton, Anderson
Meridith Hawkins, Carson-Newman

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«September 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Golf (W) Team Photo