Fender and Taylor Among Six From Catawba Named to All-SAC Football Teams


ROCK HILL, S.C. ( – Catawba placed six players, two on first team, on the 2014 All-South Atlantic Conference Football Teams as announced by the league office on Wednesday.  Senior offensive lineman Taylor Fender (Burnsville, N.C./Mountain Heritage HS) and senior linebacker Jason Taylor (Bahama, N.C./Northern HS) were the two first team picks from Catawba.  Sophomore wide receiver Carlos Tarrats (Jacksonville, Fla./Raines HS), sophomore defensive lineman Kegan Funderburk (Pageland, S.C./Central Pageland HS), junior defensive back Mark McDaniel (China Grove, N.C./S. Rowan HS) and freshman punter Caleb Barry (Lexington, S.C./Lexington HS) were honored on the second team.

Fender served as the center for the Catawba Indians this past year and was a starter on the offensive line all 44 games of his career.  He was a member of the Spur Club on two occasions this year and posted eight knockdown blocks in a win over Brevard.  Taylor averaged nearly 10 tackles per game this year, leading the team and ranking second in the SAC with 106 stops in 11 games.  He was in on 10 tackles for losses with a sack and four pass breakups.

Tarrats led Catawba and was fifth in the league with 39 receptions this season.  He tied for the most touchdown catches in the SAC with seven and also threw for a touchdown.  Tarrats stood second in the conference with 661 receiving yards.  Berry ranked second in the SAC in punting with a 38.0 average over 47 punts.  A dozen of those punts were downed inside the opponent 20-yard-line with only one touchback.  He had a long of 63 yards.

Funderburk posted 48 tackles for the Indians at nose guard.  Four of those stops went for losses.  He broke up two passes, caused a fumble and recovered two.  McDaniel was second in the conference with five interceptions.  He returned one of those picks for a score and broke up a total of nine aerials.  McDaniel recorded six stops for losses and forced two fumbles.

Mars Hill wide receiver Dimitri Holmes was tabbed as the Offensive Player of the Year, while Lenoir-Rhyne linebacker Tanner Botts was named the Defensive Player of the Year.  In addition, Keshaun Taylor of Mars Hill was named the SAC Offensive Freshman of the Year and L’Keith Brown from Tusculum was tabbed the Defensive Freshman of the Year.  Bears’ offensive lineman Joe Ray garnered the Jacobs Blocking Trophy and Lenoir-Rhyne mentor Ian Shields picked up SAC Coach of the Year honors.

QB: De’Andre Thomas, Carson-Newman
QB: Miles Freeman, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB: Andy Hibbett, Carson-Newman
RB: Chris Robinson, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB: Jarrod Spears, Lenoir-Rhyne
WR: Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
WR: Justin Houston, Tusculum
WR: Jordan Berry, Wingate
OL: Josh Turner, Brevard
OL: Robby Ignangi, Carson-Newman
OL: Taylor Fender, Catawba
OL: Joe Ray, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL: Jimmy Bayer, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL: Denzell Goode, Mars Hill
TE: Brandon Ellington, Wingate
PK: Justin Powell, Lenoir-Rhyne
RS: Lonnie Williams, Carson-Newman
LS: Dusty Nance, Carson-Newman

DL: Blake Baker, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL: Alstevis Squirewell, Newberry
DL: Caushaud Lyons, Tusculum
DL: Nick Napolitano, Wingate
LB: Michael Gruber, Brevard
LB: Jason Taylor, Catawba
LB: Tanner Botts, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB: Edmond Robinson, Newberry
LB: Taylor McDonnell, Newberry
DB: Jerry Miclisse, Carson-Newman
DB: O’neil Blake, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB: Sharon Irwin, Newberry
DB: Brandon Hathaway, Wingate
Punter – Kyle Clark, Newberry

RB: Kelvin Jeter, Brevard
RB: Jordan Ollis, Brevard
RB: Jamel Harbison, Mars Hill
WR: TraShaun Ward, Carson-Newman
WR: Carlos Tarrats, Catawba
WR: Victor Brannan, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL: Nick Allison, Mars Hill
OL: Stephen Nance, Newberry
OL: Jake Bridwell, Tusculum
OL: Will Poteat, Wingate
TE: Marquez Williams, Mars Hill
PK: Alex Noboa, Brevard
RS: Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
LS: Andrew Smith, Newberry

DL: William Alderman, Carson-Newman
DL: Kegan Funderburk, Catawba
DL: Chris Green, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL: Christiaan Davis, Mars Hill
LB: Rodney Singleton, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB: Jasper Mason, Mars Hill
LB: Eric Mapoles, Wingate
DL: Mark McDaniel, Catawba
DL: Marcus Kincaid, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL: Arnez Gray, Newberry
DL: Jon Jimenez, Wingate
P: Caleb Berry, Catawba
P: Mikey Destephens, Lenoir-Rhyne

Offensive Player Of The Year: Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
Defensive Player Of The Year: Tanner Botts, Lenoir-Rhyne
Offensive Freshman Of The Year: Keshaun Taylor, Mars Hill
Defensive Freshman Of The Year: L’Keith Brown, Tusculum
Jacobs Blocking Trophy: Joe Ray, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Coach Of The Year: Ian Shields, Lenoir-Rhyne

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2022»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Football Team Photo