Kitchens Earns Little All-America Honors From AP


NEW YORK, N.Y. -- Catawba sophomore linebacker Kyle Kitchens (Decatur, Ga./Decatur) has been named a 2015 Associated Press Little All-American as he claimed second team honors.  It marks the third All-America team the Cliff Harris Award finalist has been named to.

Kitchens turned in a stellar year in helping Catawba to the South Atlantic Conference Championship and a berth in the NCAA II playoffs for the first time in eight seasons.  He had earlier been named an All-American by the AFCA and the CCA as well as earning both SAC and CCA Region Defensive Player of the Year honors.

On the season, Kitchens totaled 65 tackles with over a third of those (23) going for losses.  Among the tackles for loss were 13 sacks which led the SAC and was the second highest total in school history.  Kitchens had one interceptions, which he returned for a touchdown, forced two fumbles, recovered three fumbles and blocked a kick.

2015 Associated Press
Little All-American Team

Quarterback — Jason Vander Laan, senior, Ferris State.
Running backs — Cameron McDondle, senior, Colorado State-Pueblo; Ja'Quan Gardner, sophomore, Humboldt State.
Linemen — Corey Tucker, senior, Slippery Rock; Joe Ray, senior, Lenoir-Rhyne; David Simmet, senior, St. Thomas (Minnesota); Jordan Morgan, junior, Kutztown; Colin Egan, senior, Johns Hopkins.
Receivers — Jon Schnaars, senior, East Stroudsburg; Jessie Ramos, senior, Hardin-Simmons; Jameson Parsons, junior, St. Cloud State.
All-purpose player — Dayton Winn, junior, Hendrix.
Kicker — Austin Morton, sophomore, Emporia State.
Linemen — Alex Hoff, senior, Linfield; Matt Judon, senior, Grand Valley State; Joshua Gordon, senior, Minnesota State-Mankato; Collin Bevins, senior, Northwest Missouri State.
Linebackers — Brock Long, senior, Fort Hays State; Jewell Ratliff, senior, Tuskegee; Max Nacewicz, senior, Springfield (Mass.).
Backs — Solomon St. Pierre, senior, Sioux Falls; Michael Jordan, senior, Missouri Western State; Victor Bunce, sophomore, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps; Carlo Thomas, sophomore, Johnson C. Smith.
Punter — Matt Klingler, Lindenwood, senior.

Quarterback — Joe Callahan, senior, Wesley (Del.).
Running backs — Sam Benger, sophomore, Carnegie Mellon; Damian Baker, senior, Carson-Newman.
Linemen — Eric Knaperek, senior, North Central (Ill.); Sam Hart, senior, Amherst; Chris Reaper, senior, Findlay; Jim Walsh, senior, Grand Valley State; Shane Smith, senior, Northwest Missouri State.
Receivers — Reece Horn, senior, Indianapolis; Kevin Jennings, senior, Carroll (Wis.); Xavier Ayers, junior, Western New Mexico.
All-purpose player — D.J. Jones, junior, Southwestern Oklahoma.
Kicker — Thomas Woodburn, senior, Utica.
Linemen — Andrew Cohen, senior, West Chester; Morgan Fox, senior, Colorado State-Pueblo; Tom Lally, senior, Mount Union; Dylan Donahue, junior, West Georgia.
Linebackers — Kyle Kitchens, sophomore, Catawba; Alex Wahl, senior, Upper Iowa; Justin Dischler, senior, Wisconsin-Whitewater.
Backs — Marqui Christian, senior, Midwestern State; Jordan Shaw, senior, Shorter; Anthony White, senior, Huntingdon; Austin Davis, sophomore, Kean.
Punter — Bret Benes, junior, Charleston (W.Va.).

Quarterback — Jeff Ziemba, junior, Shepherd.
Running backs — Austin Ekeler, junior, Western State; Mason Zurek, senior, Wabash.
Linemen — Zach Martinez, senior, Colorado State-Pueblo; Herschel Prater, senior, Minnesota State-Mankato; Shane Thompson, senior, Texas A&M-Commerce; Michael LaSala, junior, Washington & Lee; Orion Awa-Dubose, senior, West Georgia.
Receivers — Keelan Cole, senior, Kentucky Wesleyan; Krishawn Hogan, sophomore, Marian (Ind.); Bill Brown, junior, Shepherd.
All-purpose player — Sheldon Mayer, senior, Shippensburg.
Kicker — Brent Wahle, senior, Ohio Dominican.
Linemen — Justin Woods-West, senior, Central State (Ohio); Clayton Callicut, senior, Angelo State; Brandon Jones, senior, Widener; Teidrick Smith, junior, Mary Hardin-Baylor.
Linebackers — Ben Kullos, senior, South Dakota State; Marquez Gollman, junior, Grand Valley State; Connor Harris, junior, Lindenwood.
Backs — Frank Laterza, senior, St. Norbert College; Philip Lanieri, III, senior, Rensselaer; Kevin Berg, junior, Northwest Missouri State; Antion McBee, senior, Southwest Baptist.
Punter — Ryan Anderson, sophomore, Olivet.

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2022»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Football Team Photo