Basketball (M)

Morrison Claims Second Team All-SAC Men's Basketball Honors


ROCK HILL, S.C. ( -- Catawba senior Jerrin Morrison was voted second team All-South Atlantic Conference by the league coaches as the 2018 men’s basketball award winners were announced on Thursday. Lincoln Memorial’s Emanuel Terry was voted the Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, while Newberry’s Max Miller was voted the Conference’s Freshman of the Year.  In addition, Lincoln Memorial head coach Josh Schertz was tabbed as the Coach of the Year.
Morrison shared the conference scoring lead after the regular season with a 21.5 average which stands 30th in NCAA II. He also ranked among the top 10 in the league in rebounds (6.6) and steals (1.8). The senior totaled 537 points on the year and shot 45% from the field. He canned a team-high 60 three-pointers and made them with a .370 percentage.

Terry, a senior from Enterprise, Ala., finished the regular season averaging a double-double with 17.3 points and 10.2 rebounds per game. He ranks first in the conference in rebounds (10.2), blocks (55) and is first in field goal percentage .718).
Miller, a forward from Roscoe, Ill., averaged 9.3 points and six rebounds per game this season. Schertz led his team to its sixth-straight South Atlantic Conference Championship.
2017-18 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Basketball All-Conference

First Team
Emanuel Terry, Lincoln Memorial
Charles Clark, Carson-Newman
Dorian Pinson, Lincoln Memorial
Todd Withers, Queens
Trevon Shaw, Lincoln Memorial
Rob Valentine, Newberry
Second Team
Ike Agusi, Queens
Jerrin Morrison, Catawba
Donte Samuels, Coker
Mike Davis, Queens
Cornelius Taylor, Lincoln Memorial
Shaun Jones, Carson-Newman
Honorable Mention
Zeriq Lolar, Wingate
Djibril Diallo, Lenoir-Rhyne
Jalin Alexander, Queens
Kerigan Farley, Wingate
Gage Ellis, Anderson
Marco Haskins, Wingate
Max Miller, Newberry
Austin Gilyard, Mars Hill
Dashaunte Smith, Tusculum
Nassyr Daniel, Mars Hill
Quantra Taylor, Wingate
Marquis Green, Coker
Player of the Year: Emanuel Terry, Lincoln Memorial
Freshman of the Year: Max Miller, Newberry
Defensive Player of the Year: Emanuel Terry, Lincoln Memorial
Coach of the Year: Josh Schertz, Lincoln Memorial

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«December 2018»
December 1

Basketball (W) vs. TUSCULUM 64-51

Basketball (M) vs. TUSCULUM 83-79

December 2

Track/Field @ JDL Early Bird Duels

December 4

Basketball (M) @ Elizabeth City St. 68-51

December 5

Basketball (W) vs. LIVINGSTONE 83-57

December 15

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 1)

Basketball (W) vs. MARS HILL 2 p.m.

Basketball (M) vs. MARS HILL 4 p.m.

December 16

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 2)

December 17

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 3)

December 18

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 4)

December 19

Basketball (W) @ Wingate 2 p.m.

Basketball (M) @ Wingate 4 p.m.

December 31

Basketball (W) vs. BELMONT ABBEY 2 p.m.

Basketball (M) @ St. Augustine's 2 p.m.

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Basketball (M) Team Photo