Samples named Offensive Player of Year as 12 earn All-SAC honors in Football

ROCK HILL, SC – Catawba, Carson-Newman and Tusculum College, which finished in a three-way tie for the league championship, dominated the 2003 South Atlantic Conference All-Conference Football Teams. It was only the second time in 29 years of football competition that the league title was shared by three schools. Carson-Newman, Catawba and Lenoir-Rhyne shared the title in 1988. Carson-Newman and Tusculum each placed 14 on the All-Conference Team, with each school placing seven on the First Team and seven on the Second Team. Catawba had 12 All-Conference selections, with a league-high eight making First Team. Catawba quarterback Luke Samples (Elkin, NC), who threw posted school records with 2,785 yards and 21 touchdowns this season was named the SAC’s Offensive Player of the Year. His season passing total is the seventh-best in conference history. His career total of 6,992 yards, also a school record, is the fifth highest in conference history. Tusculum defensive back Ricardo Colclough, who led the conference with 11 interceptions and 24 passes defended, was named the SAC’s Defensive Player of the Year. Colclough ranked in the top five nationally in both of those categories. He also was a First Team All-Conference selection at both defensive back and return specialist, leading the conference in both kickoff and punt returns. Mars Hill quarterback Brandon Sims was named the SAC’s Offensive Freshman of the Year. He had 315 yards rushing, with three touchdowns, and passed for 453 yards and four touchdowns. Catawba defensive lineman Marcus Huntley (Morven, NC) was named the SAC’s Defensive Freshman of the Year. He had 42 total tackles, eight tackles for loss for minus 50 yards, five sacks and 13 quarterback hurries. He recovered three fumbles, which tied him for first in that category. Carson-Newman College veteran coach Ken Sparks was named Coach of the Year, winning the award for the 11th time in his career. The SAC Scholar Athlete Award for football went to Tusculum College senior linebacker Craig Pritchett, who wins the award for the second year in a row. Pritchett, who was a First Team All-Conference selection, carries a 3.73 GPA as a graphic design major. Tusculum offensive lineman Alan Dunn, a three-time first-team All-SAC selection and a Football Gazette and Associated Press All-American last year, received the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, which goes to the top lineman or blocking back in the conference. Catawba put a total of 12 players on the squad, with eight on the First Team. Joining Samples on the first team offense was record-setting wide receiver Corey Ready (Aiken, SC), tailback Rodney Wallace (Bamberg, SC), linemen Cole Beane (Dallas, NC) and Joe Nixon (Clayton, NC). On defense, lineman Khanis Hubbard (Raleigh, NC), linebacker SaMario Houston (Charlotte, NC) and defensive back Jamel Jackson (Concord, NC) were first team selections. Second team honors went to running back Mario Crowe (Charlotte, NC), tight end John Vernon (Walnut Cove, NC), offensive lineman Daniel Lynch (Pilot Mountain, NC) and defensive lineman Reggie Tucker (Carlisle, SC). 2003 All-South Atlantic Conference Football Teams First Team Offense QB – LUKE SAMPLES, CAT WR – COREY READY, CAT WR – Rod DeWalt, MH WR – Kevin Wolcott, TC RB – J.J. Chatmon, C-N RB – RODNEY WALLACE, CAT RB – Antonio Hailstock, WU TE – Leonard Weaver, C-N OL – Bakari Wilkerson, C-N OL – Reggie Perkins, C-N OL – JOE NIXON, CAT OL – COLE BEANE, CAT OL – Alan Dunn, TC PK – Chris Brewer, WU LS – Matt Ball, TC Defense DL – Clarence Glymph, C-N DL – KHANIS HUBBARD, CAT DL – Tellex Lanham, MH DL – Teddy Canty, PC DL – John Bowman, WU LB – Eric Solomon, C-N LB – SaMARIO HOUSTON, CAT LB – Craig Pritchett, TC LB – Shawn Harris, TC DB – Avery Blue, C-N DB – JAMEL JACKSON, CAT DB – Michael Grant, MH DB – Ricardo Colclough, TC P – Chris Brewer, WU RS – Ricardo Colclough, TC Second Team Offense QB – Shane Kelly, C-N QB – Tony Colston, TC WR – Aaron Caldwell, L-R WR – Tymere Zimmerman, NEW WR – Terry Meng, PC RB – Ray Hightower, C-N RB – MARIO CROWE, CAT RB – Cedric Johnson, MH TE – JOHN VERNON, CAT OL – Justin Anderson, C-N OL – DANIEL LYNCH, CAT OL – Feliz Perez, TC OL – Mario Leon, TC OL – Marcus Johnson, WU PK – Angel Gonzalez, C-N LS – Justin Anderson, C-N Defense DL – Germon Spence, C-N DL – REGGIE TUCKER, CAT DL – Mike Hobbs, TC DL – Lee Hughes, Jr., TC LB – Adam Mosher, L-R LB – Terrance Leverett, NEW LB – David Behrendsen, PC LB – Demarkes Dogan, WU DB – Deonte Bolden, C-N DB – Roy Dawkins, L-R DB – Antyone Sims, TC DB – D.J. Starling, TC P – Jeff Williams, NEW RS – Quentin Roman, L-R Player of the Year OFF: LUKE SAMPLES, CAT DEF: Ricardo Colclough, TC Freshman of the Year OFF: Brandon Sims, MH DEF: MARCUS HUNTLEY, CAT Coach of the Year Ken Sparks, C-N Jacobs Blocking Alan Dunn, TC SAC Scholar Athlete Craig Pritchett, TC #####

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2022»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Football Team Photo