Golf (W)

Barts Named Second Team All-SAC for Women's Golf


ROCK HILL, S.C. ( -- The South Atlantic Conference announced its 2020 Women’s Golf All-Conference Teams and Award Winners on Wednesday and Catawba senior Kayley Barts earned second team honors. Lenoir-Rhyne’s Ainee O’Connor was voted the Women’s Golfer of the Year, while Wingate’s Hailey McLaughlin was named the Freshman of the Year. Wingate’s Erin Thorne was named the Coach of the Year.

Barts led Catawba with a 76.64 stroke average over her 14 rounds during seven tournaments. That total was the fourth best season in school history. The senior was medalist at the Patsy Rendleman Invitational in October. In the opening round of that event, Barts set a school record by shooting a 67.

Over her four seasons, Barts managed 13 top 10 finishes in 37 tournaments. Playing 79 career rounds, she posted a 78.05 stroke average which stands second all-time at Catawba.

O'Connor completed a SAC women’s golf award trifecta with the Golfer of the Year award as she was also named the SAC Women’s Golf Elite 20 winner and the SAC Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She had six top-15 and four top-10 finishes and posted a 75.09 adjusted scoring average.
McLaughlin led the SAC and was No. 15 in the NCAA Divison II South Region with a 74.59 adjusted scoring average. She finished in the top-25 in all seven tournaments this season, including four top-10 finishes and a runner-up finish at the Spring Kickoff Intercollegiate. Thorne earns her second consecutive Coach of the Year accolade after leading the Wingate women to a No. 10 WGCA Division II National Ranking.
2020 SAC Women’s Golf All-Conference Teams and Award Winners
First Team
Hailey McLaughlin, Wingate
Mind Puangcharoen, Wingate
Ainee O’Connor, Lenoir-Rhyne
Megan Robb, Lenoir-Rhyne
Diana McDonald, Wingate
Second Team
Alicia Fajardo, Coker
Maeve Cummins, Carson-Newman
Jennifer Keim, Tusculum
Beatriz Espelosin, Lenoir-Rhyne
Kaley Barts, Catawba
Honorable Mention
Emma Charles, Anderson
Marie Luise Schrader, Wingate
Rachel Watts, Carson-Newman
Sam Fritzinger, Wingate
Victoria Hall, Anderson
Women’s Golfer of the Year:  Ainee O’Connor, Lenoir-Rhyne
Women’s Golf Freshman of the Year: Hailey McLaughlin, Wingate
Women’s Golf Coach of the Year: Erin Thorne, Wingate

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«September 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Golf (W) Team Photo